Bellerive Country Club began in 1897 in north St. Louis as a nine-hole course with 166 members. In 1910, the membership incorporated as Bellerive Country Club, naming the club after Louis St. Ange De Bellerive, the last French commander in North America.
The Bellerive Country Club is a fairly open on the front nine, but narrow on the back nine. The extremely large greens are easy to three putt. Overall, water hazards come into play on eleven holes. The club hosted the 1965 U.S. Open and the 1992 PGA Championship.